Geelong has sent further shockwaves through the competition by smashing the Demons by 116 points in the rain at the MCG on Friday night.

The Demons looked slow in the pouring rain and were kept to a scoreless first quarter while the silky Cats piled on eight goals to take a 53 point lead into the first change.

After a horror first quarter the Demons manage to stem some of the flow in the second quarter, keeping the Cats to four goals. After two goals from Lonergan and one too Matthew Stokes the Demons finally got their first goal 24 minutes in the second quarter through Austin Wonaeamirri, before Ablett replied for the Cats almost immediately giving the Cats a 70 point half time lead.

The Cats slammed on another five goals in the third quarter before young Shane Valenti soccered one through to kick Melbourne’s second for the night. When Tom Lonergan and Brent Prismall each kicked their third the Cats lead had stretched to 106 points.

Play slowed in the last quarter with players tiring from the tough, wet conditions. The Demons managed to kick the first goal of the final quarter through a miracle dribbling goal from Paul Johnson, which may be a contender for Goal of the Year. Matthew Stokes then turned on a clinic as he added the next three goals in six minutes to ice the cake for the reigning premiers.

Once again the Cats players shared the ball around with a lot of players racking up 20+ disposals. Andrew Mackie didn’t seem to have an opponent and he was everywhere picking up 33 touches, while young Prismall showed that he can get in on the act racking up 32 touches, taking 9 marks and kicking 3 goals. The usual suspects, Selwood (33 possessions), Corey Enright (33), James Kelly (27), Cameron Ling (31) and Joel Corey (30) all found plenty of the ball. Whelan (31), Wheatley (27) and Green (27) were the major ball winners for the Demons.

Geelong 8.5 12.7 19.10 24.13 (157)
Melbourne 0.0 1.3 2.6 5.11 (41)

Lonergan 4, Stokes 4, Prismall 3, Ling 2, Ablett 2, Bartel 2, Mackie 2, Selwood, Blake, Gamble, Mooney, S. Johnson
Melbourne: Valenti 2, Wonaeamirri, P. Johnson, C. Johnson

Scarlett, Mackie, Prismall, Enright, Selwood, Ling, Kelly, Bartel
Melbourne: Whelan, Valenti, McDonald, Wheatley, Bruce, P. Johnson

Blake (elbow)
Melbourne: Jamar (ill) replaced in selected side by White

Reports: Nil

Umpires: Donlon, Kennedy, Ryan

Official crowd: 34,610 at the MCG