Fremantle have recorded just their third victory for the season defeating the Demons by 46 points at Subiaco on Sunday coming back from a 29 point deficit at quarter time.

Melbourne jumped out of the blocks with Cale Morton goaling in the first two minutes of the game, before Chris Tarrent had a chance to kick the Dockers first, but missed an easy opportunity from straight in front. This proved costly for Fremantle and when Melbourne slammed on another four goals, signs look ominous for the home side who had only won one game at Subiaco this season. Melbourne made the most of a scrappy first quarter dominating on the scoreboard.

After two misses early in the second quarter from the Dockers, Mark Jamar goaled for Melbourne to extend their lead to 34 points to stun the Docker supporters. When young Garrick Ibbotson kicked Fremantle’s first goal from a boundary throw-in there was a spark for Fremantle who lifted to claw their way back into the match. They pushed Matthew Pavlich forward and kicked the next three goals of the term to level the scores at half time.

The third quarter started with goals from both sides through Shaun McManus and Brad Miller, but the Dockers then took control of the match piling on another five unanswered goals to take a 34 point lead into the final change.

Two early final quarter goals from the home side snuffed out a revival from the Demons and when McPharlin kicked his second and third goals and Pavlich kicked his fifth the lead was stretched to 58 points. Pavlich starred for the home side racking up 28 disposals, the most of any player on the ground, as well as pulling down nine marks, laying five tackles and kicking five goals. Two late goals from the Demons reduced some of the damage but left them on bottom of the ladder with Dockers moving one game clear of them and West Coast.

FREMANTLE  0.2  5.9  11.15  16.18 (114)
MELBOURNE  5.1  6.3  7.5  10.8 (68)

Matthew Pavlich 5, Luke McPharlin 3, Garrick Ibbotson, Byron Schammer, Josh Carr, Shaun McManus, Brock O’Brien, Aaron Sandilands, Chris Tarrant, Brett Peake
Melbourne: Cale Morton 2, Brad Miller 2, Matthew Bate 2, Michael Newton 2, Paul Johnson, Mark Jamar

Matthew Pavlich, Byron Schammer, Garrick Ibbotson, Ryan Crowley, Luke McPharlin, Shaun McManus.
Melbourne: Chris Johnson, Paul Wheatley, Simon Buckley, Cameron Bruce, Matthew Bate, Nathan Jones.

Brock O’Brien (hamstring)
Melbourne: Nil

Reports: Nil

Umpires: Kennedy, Hendrie, Avon

Official crowd: 31,638 at Subiaco Oval