In the first qualifying match of the 2013 finals, the Hawks battle the Swans at the MCG on Friday night. Cyril Rioli is named for Hawthorn, after injuring his ankle in round 22, however there are doubt whether he is going to play. Max Bailey and Brent Guerra have also been named in the team. Meanwhile, Lance Franklin will be absent due to suspension for rough conduct against Nick Malceski (Sydney), along with Shane Savage and Taylor Duryea who were omitted.

Heading the list of Sydney’s returning players is Lewis Jetta who has been missing from the team for more than two months while recovering from injury. Nick Smith, Kurt Tippett and Daniel Hannebery replace a number of players who have been omitted.

Skipping ahead to Sunday at the MCG, the Tigers clash with the Blues in their finals campaigns. Jack Riewoldt returns from back soreness that sidelined him last weekend, Chris Newman is back from an ankle injury, along with Shane Edwards and Matt Dea who were also selected. Matt White, who suffered a hamstring injury, is the only exclusion.

Chris Judd has been named in Carlton’s line-up after missing three weeks with a knee injury while Brock McLean and Heath Scotland complete the Blue’s qualifying finals team.

Friday 6th September, 7:50pm, MCG


B: Ben Stratton, Brian Lake, Brent Guerra
HB: Shaun Burgoyne, Josh Gibson, Grant Birchall
C: Isaac Smith, Luke Hodge, Bradley Hill
HF: Luke Breust, Jack Gunston, Jordan Lewis
F: Paul Puopolo, Jarryd Roughead, Cyril Rioli
Foll: David Hale, Sam Mitchell, Brad Sewell
I/C: Max Bailey, Jed Anderson, Matt Spangher, Brendan Whitecross
Emg: Liam Shiels, Shane Savage, Taylor Duryea

In: Bailey, Rioli, Guerra
Out: Franklin (suspended), Savage, Duryea (omitted)


B: Dane Rampe, Heath Grundy, Nick Malceski
HB: Jarrad McVeigh, Ted Richards, Nick Smith
C: Andrejs Everitt, Kieren Jack, Gary Rohan
HF: Daniel Hannebery, Jesse White, Ben McGlynn
F: Jude Bolton, Kurt Tippett, Shane Mumford
Foll: Mike Pyke, Josh Kennedy, Ryan O’Keefe
I/C: Craig Bird, Tom Mitchell, Luke Parker, Lewis Jetta
Emg: Shane Biggs, Harry Cunningham, Mitch Morton

In: Smith, Tippett, Jetta, Hannebery
Out: Morton, Cunningham, Biggs, Jack

Saturday 7th September, 2:20pm, Simonds Stadium


B: Harry Taylor, Tom Lonergan, Corey Enright
HB: Jared Rivers, Andrew Mackie, Jimmy Bartel
C: Chris Johnson, Joel Corey, Allen Christensen
HF: Joel Selwood, James Podsiadly, Steven Motlop
F: Paul Chapman, Tom Hawkins, Josh Caddy
Foll: Nathan Vardy, James Kelly, Mitch Duncan
I/C: Mark Blicavs, Mathew Stokes, Taylor Hunt, Travis Varcoe
Emg: Cameron Guthrie, Jordan Murdoch, Josh Walker

In: Vardy
Out: West


B: Lee Spurr, Zac Dawson, Paul Duffield
HB: Nick Suban, Alex Silvagni, Tendai Mzungu
C: David Mundy, Michael Barlow, Stephen Hill
HF: Matthew De Boer, Chris Mayne, Danyle Pearce
F: Hayden Ballantyne, Matthew Pavlich, Michael Walters
Foll: Aaron Sandilands, Nathan Fyfe, Ryan Crowley
I/C: Cameron Sutcliffe, Zac Clarke, Tom Sheridan, Lachie Neale
Emg: Luke McPharlin, Jack Hannath, Hayden Crozier

In: Mundy, Spurr, Dawson, Ballantyne, Suban, Hill, Mayne, Walters, Clarke, Fyfe
Out: Pearce (achilles), Hannath, Crichton, Mellington, Forster (back), Crozier, Taberner, Simpson, Moller

Saturday 7th September, 7:45pm, MCG


B: Paul Seedsman, Nathan Brown, Heath Shaw
HB: Marley Williams, Lachlan Keeffe, Tyson Goldsack
C: Harry O’Brien, Dayne Beams, Alan Didak
HF: Steele Sidebottom, Quinten Lynch, Jarryd Blair
F: Luke Ball, Travis Cloke, Ben Reid
Foll: Brodie Grundy, Scott Pendlebury, Dane Swan
I/C: Brent Macaffer, Nick Maxwell, Josh Thomas, Sam Dwyer
Emg: Jordan Russell, Jamie Elliott, Ben Kennedy

In: Ball, O’Brien
Out: Kennedy, Russell (omitted)

Port Adelaide

B: Cameron O’Shea, Alipate Carlile, Tom Logan
HB: Matthew Broadbent, Jackson Trengove, Tom Jonas
C: Brad Ebert, Travis Boak, Kane Cornes
HF: Robbie Gray, Justin Westhoff, Domenic Cassisi
F: Chad Wingard, Jay Schulz, Angus Monfries
Foll: Matthew Lobbe, Hamish Hartlett, Oliver Wines
I/C: Andrew Moore, Jasper Pittard, Sam Colquhoun, Aaron Young
Emg: Cameron Hitchcock, Jake Neade, Jack Hombsch

In: Carlile, Gray, Hartlett
Out: Hombsch, Renouf, Stevenson (omitted)

Sunday 8th September, 3:20pm, MCG


B: Steven Morris, Alex Rance, Dylan Grimes
HB: Bachar Houli, Troy Chaplin, Chris Newman
C: Shaun Grigg, Trent Cotchin, Daniel Jackson
HF: Nick Vlastuin, Aaron Edwards, Brandon Ellis
F: Dustin Martin, Jack Riewoldt, Ty Vickery
Foll: Ivan Maric, Brett Deledio, Reece Conca
I/C: Jake King, Ricky Petterd, Shane Edwards, Nathan Foley, Orren Stephenson, Matt Dea, Shane Tuck

In: Newman, Riewoldt, Edwards, Dea
Out: White (hamstring)


B: Heath Scotland, Michael Jamison, Lachie Henderson
HB: Zach Tuohy, Jarrad Waite, Bryce Gibbs
C: Chris Yarran, Mitch Robinson, Kade Simpson
HF: Ed Curnow, Andrew Walker, Brock McLean
F: Jeff Garlett, Matthew Kreuzer, Chris Judd
Foll: Robert Warnock, Eddie Betts, Marc Murphy
I/C: David Ellard, Nick Duigan, Andrew McInnes, Troy Menzel, Tom Bell, Levi Casboult, Dennis Armfield

In: Judd, McLean, Scotland
Out: –