Geelong has continued it’s winning streak over Hawthorn after coming from five goals down to win at the MCG on Easter Monday.

The Hawks haven’t beaten the Cats since knocking them off in the 2008 Grand Final, with that Cats winning the last ten, most of them by under two goals.

Hawthorn started well kicking the first three goals of the game as they jumped out to a 16 point lead in the first term.

They continued to kick away in the second quarter, stretching their lead to 30 points before two late goals from the Cats cut the margin back to 20 points at the main break.

The late goals lifted Geelong and sparked a resurgence after half time as they slammed on the first four goals of the third term to take the lead and setup another thriller. The Cats pushed out to a 9 point lead before Roughead kicked a late goal to bring the difference back to two points at three quarter time.

A crucial mistake from Hawk defender Brent Guerra at the kick out gifted the Cats the first goal of the final term and the momentum allowed them to kick away a 21 point lead half way through the quarter. However, as it always does between these two teams it would go down to the wire and the Hawks hit back through Bruest to cut the margin to 14 points. 

When Savage ran into goal with just three minutes left the Hawks were within two kicks. They continued to come at the Cats and Bruest had a chance kick his team closer but missed allow the Cats to hold on for another win over the Hawks.

HAWTHORN    4.3   8.9   10.10    12.14 (86)              
GEELONG        1.5   5.7   10.12    13.15 (93)            

Hawthorn: Franklin 2, Breust 2, Savage 2, Lewis, Guerra, Hale, Rioli, Smith, Roughead
Geelong: Hawkins 2, Smedts 2, Podsiadly 2, Duncan 2, Chapman, Varcoe, Selwood, Mackie, Christensen

Hawthorn: Mitchell, Sewell, Birchall, Lewis, Schoenmakers, Rioli
Geelong: Selwood, Chapman, Mackie, Taylor, Smedts, Stokes, Enright

Hawthorn: Lake replaced in selected side by Bailey
Geelong: Nil