Western Bulldogs midfielder Daniel Cross has taken out the Charles Sutton Medal for the first time at an awards ceremony at Crown on Tuesday night after having a stand out year for the Dogs.

Cross, 25, polled a total of 191 votes and out out-polled the reigning Brownlow Medallist Adam Cooney who finished second on 167, 24 votes behind Cross. Five votes behind Cooney was Matthew Boyd who came a close third on 162 votes.

Cross was picked up with pick #56 in the 2000 National Draft and has played a total of 110 games including all 25 of the Bulldogs games this year in which he averaged over 26 disposals.

Cross also won the Scott West Award for the most courageous player and the Bruce Wilkinson Award which is awarded by the club trainers for best player.

Other awards on the night included the Match Committee Award in which Dale Morris won. Callan Ward was named the best first year player and Jarrod Harbrow was named the most promising player at the Bulldogs.

Charles Sutton Medal:
1. Daniel Cross 191
2. Adam Cooney 167
3. Matthew Boyd 163
4. Dale Morris 149
5. Daniel Giansiracusa 132
6. Jason Akermanis 130
7. Robert Murphy 129
8. Ryan Hargrave 119
9. Ryan Griffen 117
10. Lindsay Gilbee 111