For the penultimate NAB Challenge match, in Game 17 on Friday afternoon the Demons battle the Cats at TIO Traeger Park in Alice Springs. Both teams have new and injured players to consider throughout their selection process.

Cats fans will enjoy the return of captain Joel Selwood following his recovery from recent foot surgery and Hamish McIntosh who is set to make his AFL comeback playing in his first game in almost two years. Draft picks Nick Bourke, Jarrad Jansen and Jake Kolodjashnij are also likely to join the squad. On the Geelong injury list are Shane Kersten who is out with a knee injury and Jesse Stringer who is having hamstring issues.

The Demons have named Max King, Jesse Hogan and Jack Watts in its lineup. However, Michael Evans, Jay Kennedy-Harris, Cameron Pedersen and James Strauss have all been sidelined this week.

Here are the teams:


1. Jesse Hogan
2. Nathan Jones
4. Jack Watts,
5. Jimmy Toumpas
8. James Frawley
9. Jack Trengove
10. Shannon Byrnes
12. Dom Tyson
13. Jordie McKenzie
14. Lynden Dunn
15. Mitch Clisby
17. Sam Blease
18. Daniel Cross
22. Viv Michie
23. Bernie Vince
25. Tom McDonald
26. Daniel Nicholson
29. Jayden Hunt
31. Jack Grimes
33. Dom Barry
38. Jeremy Howe
39. Neville Jetta
41. Alexis Georgiou
42. Jake Spencer
44. Rohan Bail
45. Matt Jones
46. Dean Terlich
47. Max King
48. Jack Fitzpatrick


1. Mitch Brown
2. Billie Smedts
3. Jimmy Bartel
5. Travis Varcoe
6. Lincoln McCarthy,
7. Harry Taylor
8. Jake Kolodjashnij
9. James Kelly
13. Tom Lonergan
14. Joel Selwood
15. Jordan Schroder
16. Dawson Simpson
17. Hamish McIntosh
19. Taylor Hunt
20. Steven Johnson
21. Jordan Murdoch
22. Mitch Duncan
23. Josh Caddy
25. Jared Rivers
26. Tom Hawkins
29. Cameron Guthrie
33. George Horlin-Smith
34. Josh Walker
35. Jansen Jarrod
38. Jackson Sheringham
40.  Jackson Thurlow
42. Nick Bourke
45. Joel Hamling
46. Mark Blicavs

AFL, ‘NAB Challenge squads: Melbourne v Geelong’,, accessed 27th February 2014