Richmond has named Graham Polak in their squad to take on St Kilda in Friday nights NAB Challenge match at Shepparton. The utility player has not played since suffering a brain injury after he was hit by a tram outside hit Armadale home in July last year.

Polak has made an incredible recovery from the incident, it was once feared that he may never play at the elite level again. In December Richmond applied to have Polak put on the rookie list as it was thought his condition would rule him out from playing at least until late in the 2009 season. The AFL rejected the move after a number of clubs raised question marks over the application.

The Tigers will rest Ben Cousins, Brett Deledio, Troy Simmonds, Nathan Brown, Matthew Richardson, Chris Newman and Nathan Foley from the match.

St Kilda have included Max Hudghton, Adam Schneider, David Armitage and James Gwilt into their squad.

Brisbane will welcome skipper Jonathon Brown into the squad to take on Melbourne in Cairns along with Jared Brennan, Michael Rischitelli and Travis Johnstone. Jack Grimes, Brad Miller, Brad Green and skipper James McDonald will all be rested from the Melbourne squad.

NAB Regional Challenge Series: St Kilda v Richmond at Shepparton, 7.00pm Friday

St Kilda squad:
Jason Gram, Steven King, Xavier Clarke, Leigh Fisher, Lenny Hayes, Max Hudghton, Steven Baker, Leigh Montagna, Adam Schneider, Luke Ball, Michael Gardiner, Colm Begley, Brendon Goddard, Sam Gilbert, Farren Ray, Justin Koschitzke, Sam Fisher, Nick Dal Santo, Jason Blake, Andrew McQualter, James Gwilt, Jack Steven, Clint Jones, Jarryn Geary, Zac Dawson, Stephen Milne, Luke Miles

Richmond squad:
Will Thursfield, Andrew Raines, Graham Polak, Shane Edwards, Joel Bowden, Jordan McMahon, Dean Polo, Luke McGuane, Alex Rance, Dean Putt, Mitch Morton, Shane Tuck, Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls, Jay Schulz, Tom Hislop, Tyrone Vickery, Richard Tambling, Adam Thomson, David Gourdis, Jarrod Sylvester, Jayden Post, Robin Nahas, Daniel Connors, Andrew Collins, Andrew Browne, Angus Graham, Jake King

NAB Regional Challenge Series: Brisbane Lions v Melbourne at Cairns, 7.30pm Friday

Brisbane Lions squad:
Mitch Clark, Albert Proud, Travis Johnston, Scott Harding, Luke Power, Jed Adcock, Daniel Rich, James Hawksley, Lachlan Henderson, Matt Tyler, Jonathan Brown, Jared Brennan, Tom Collier, Matthew Leuenberger, Joel Patfull, Joel Macdonald, Troy Selwood, Jason Roe, Jack Redden, James Polkinghorne, Cheynee Stiller, Rhan Hooper, Bradd Dalziell, Michael Rischitelli, Daniel Bradshaw, Matt Austin, Josh Drummond, Scott Clouston, Aaron Cornelius

Melbourne squad:
Simon Buckley, Clint Bartam, Rohan Bail, Cale Morton, Daniel Bell, Neville Jetta, Michael Newton, Jamie Bennell, Paul Johnson, Ricky Petterd, Cameron Bruce, Nathan Jones, Jake Spencer, Kyle Cheney, Stefan Martin, James Strauss, Aaron Davey, Colin Sylvia, Lynden Dunn, Brock McLean, Matthew Warnock, James Frawley, John Meesen, Jared Rivers, Shane Valenti, Colin Garland, Trent Zomer, Brent Moloney, Matthew Bate